JoJo: 2016 Highlights

JoJo, a singer/songwriter released her first album in 10 years, Mad Love in late 2016. Most remember her from her hit singles back when she was 15, Leave (Get Out) and  Too Little Too Late. Now signed to Atlantic Records, after breaking free from her previous label that was holding her back, JoJo was able to create something amazing. Mad Love is an honest and empowering album. Once the album was released JoJo set out across the U.S. for various radio shows to promote the album.

Although I was familiar with JoJo when I was younger, from her hit singles and from the movie Aquamarine, I never kept up with her after that. After seeing a tweet recommending her new single F**k Apologies, I decided to check it out and I was hooked. With the release of her album Mad Love (my favorite album released in 2016), she came to my hometown to do a couple shows for radio promotion and I had the chance to see/meet her. Here are some of the best parts of the night:

1.Meet and Greet

Although it was a quick meet and greet, I got to tell her that I loved her album, she was so sweet and kind.

So awesome to finally meet @iamjojo last night!

A post shared by Marisa (@heyitsris78) on

2.No Apologies

I was so happy I got to hear No Apologies, the radio friendly version of F**k Apologies because it’s one my favorites.

3. F.A.B.

Unable to perform the entire version of Fake Ass Bitches, she did sing a snippet of the song, which was a fun surprise. When it got to the chorus she replaced it with “bleep bleep bleep.”

4.Leave (Get Out)

It was so amazing to get to hear an oldie. Its always fun to sing along and the crowd went crazy for this one.

A post shared by Marisa (@heyitsris78) on

5.I Am

Although I’m usually more for the upbeat songs, this is one of my all-time favorites from her album. The song, I Am, is a song about self love and not letting anyone make you feel unworthy. It is such a beautiful song.

6.Vocals

If you haven’t listened to JoJo, I highly recommend it. Not only are her songs amazing but her vocals are out of this world.

Check out her album Mad Love here: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/mad-love.-deluxe/id1153048003

JoJo is heading out on her Mad Love Tour this spring, if you want to hear the killer vocals live, tickets are available here: http://www.iamjojoofficial.com/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

