Sometime Last Night Tour:2016 Highlights

R5, a pop-rock band set out for the second leg of their Sometime Last Night Tour early 2016. The band consists of Ross (Vocals/Guitar), Riker (Vocals/Bass), Rydel (Vocals/Keyboard), Rocky (Vocals/Guitar) and Ellington (Vocals/Drums). I was so excited when the second leg of the tour was announced because I had just finished seeing them in 2015 and was ready for more. They always put on amazing shows and I love reflecting back on these memories.

They opened with Heart Made Up on You. The main thing I love about this song live is how hype it is and the lighting planned for the song made it even more exciting.

HMUOYgif.gif

Next up was All Night. My favorite parts about this song live are 1) hearing the harmonies in the “will you save me” lyric and 2) how they did their cute synchronized dancing during “and we’ll dance in the streets till the morning.”

img_0362

Usually no matter what artist I see, my sister and I usually have some silly dance to one of their songs… and of course there’s nothing better than taking the embarrassing dance move out in public this time during Dark Side. My sister swears maybe Ross saw us, but I’ll believe it when I see it. Next up was Cali Girls and I love this song from the first album! In each city, they usually try to adjust Cali Girls to wherever they are. It definitely made my night when they sang “Albany girls.” I was freaking out!

Easy Love was up next. It’s one of my favorite songs to sing along with. And where else can you scream “Douchebags” and it be socially acceptable? Then they played, I Know You Got Away, which was one of the highlights of the show because of the Ross and Rocky guitar solos. I love that every member has a chance to show off their skill.

During this leg of the tour, they did a lot of switching up the set list so every night wasn’t predictable. Ain’t No Way We’re Going Home is one my all-time favorite jams, and I didn’t even expect them to play it. It was such a nice surprise to be able to rock out to another favorite. Next, Repeating Days was a nice break from the upbeat pace; it shows off so much emotion. At the end of the song, Ross has his own intimate solo. He exudes so much emotion during it. The previous show I went to, I wasn’t able to enjoy it as much because girls were screaming. But, at this show for the most part, everyone took a silence to appreciate and respect the moment.

IMG_0391.JPG

Although Louder was their first official album that got them into the spotlight, they did make music before the big burst of popularity. Riker took to the piano and performed Always, a cute oldie. It was such a nice throwback.

IMG_0390.JPG

Finally, Lightning Strikes!  But first let’s take time to appreciate Ellington’s skill during his drum solo in the intro.SO AMAZING!

Lightning Strikes is of my favorite songs from the album and also because we get to hear Rydel’s vocals. It’s always such a fun song to dance to and gets the crowd super hype.

Next, was a fun surprise. Rydel did a second song which was Ain’t It Fun by Paramore. She sounded amazing as usual. Also let’s pause for this hair flip moment.

1gpokj (1).gif

When I first heard the album, I didn’t really pay much attention to Wild Hearts. However, when I saw them perform it in 2015, I was in love. It’s such an underrated song and I loved being able to hear it again. My favorite lyric from it is “we better live our life up to the fullest.” There is this one part of the song “Till we’re the only ones left standing,” where they do three stomps before jumping back into the chorus. At our show they paused before this and we stomped too early (this trickery… I was thrown off). You could see Riker shake his head and say “too early,”(something of that nature, this was a year ago my memory is foggy on his exact words). F.E.E.L. G.O.O.D. was up, and I absolutely love the funky sound to this track. Afterwards was Forget About You. This was one of my favorites from Louder (Okay, maybe they’re all my favorite), and I loved that they continued to play it. This song is so much fun to sing and dance to.

Ross decided to switch up Did You Have Your Fun this night and sang the first half a bit slower before he picked it back up to the original pace. It’s always cool to see when artists switch things up although I have to admit, I had no idea what he was saying for half of it but I still appreciated the artistic decision.

During part of the show there was just one point where the whole band was just laying down and I wondered, what is going on?…but also SAME.

img_0292

After they left, before returning for the encore, it was just a waiting game because I knew it was going to be Loud. Although come to my surprise, they all come out on stage and Ross asks “Do you like Pina Coladas?” Now I’m not one for pina coladas but this took me buy surprise and I enjoyed their cover of Escape.

Last but not least, Smile. Although we were fifth row, we were able to go up to the stage for this last song. SO AMAZING. In the middle of the song, Ross paused to take a moment to talk about happiness and remembering the good moments, even if you’re down. It’s such a good message. Then after their final bow, they stuck around to give out drumsticks, guitar picks and set lists. My friend Jason was lucky enough to have Rydel hand him the set list… definitely a nice way to end off the night.

rikerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Overall, it was such an amazing night! They always put on a great show, and it’s always fun to sing-along and dance to their music live. I love them all so much and I can’t wait till the next tour!

bow.jpg

Leave a Reply

